Honorees Chosen for 2021 Berkshire Nonprofit Awards


Great Barrington, Mass. – The Nonprofit Center of the Berkshires, in partnership with The Berkshire Eagle, has announced the names of 8 honorees receiving recognition at the 4th annual Berkshire Nonprofit Awards on May 18. The Berkshire Nonprofit Awards recognize the accomplishments and dedication of the people who work in the nonprofit sector.

A panel of 18 judges from the business and nonprofit sectors deliberated via Zoom to choose one honoree in each of 8 categories from among 98 nominations. The honorees are: Z Estime/Railroad Street Youth Project (Samya Rose Stumo Youth Leadership); Gabrielle Senza/Walk Unafraid Foundation (Unsung Hero); América López/Berkshire Interfaith Organizing, Volunteers in Medicine, Liderazgo Inmigrante, and Latinas413 (Volunteer); Patti Messina/Northern Berkshire United Way (Super Staffer); Michelle Lopez/Berkshire Immigrant Center (Rising Star); Marita Glodt/Barrington Stage Company (Board Leadership); Janis Broderick/Elizabeth Freeman Center (Executive Leadership); and Dennis Powell/NAACP & Clinton Church Restoration (Lifetime Achievement).

“The sheer number of excellent nominations made inspiring but tough work for the judges,” said Liana Toscanini, Executive Director of the Nonprofit Center of the Berkshires. “Nonprofit folks all stepped up to meet a myriad of challenges during this pandemic. They all deserve to be honored and thanked for their commitment and resilience.”

On May 18, Representative William “Smitty” Pignatelli will emcee a 45-minute virtual event featuring a presentation to the honorees, a tribute to all Berkshire healthcare workers, entertainment by Music in Common, and a drawing for a $3,000 cash prize for one nonprofit in attendance. 

The event is free and open to the public thanks to sponsors: Berkshire Bank, Berkshire Health Systems, Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation, Berkshire United Way, Black Rock Foundation/Donald C. McGraw Foundation, Feigenbaum Foundation, Fitzpatrick Trust, JPMorgan Chase, Lamar Advertising Company, Lee Bank, and Salisbury Bank.

Register to attend the Berkshire Nonprofit Awards online at npcberkshires.org or call (413) 441-9542.